Award of Distinction


Acknowledges exceptional lifetime achievement in the science of brewing. The awardee will be a long standing member of the American Society of Brewing Chemists.  This award will only be given when exceptional achievement has been shown as deemed by the Board of Directors.

To Nominate Your Colleagues

To nominate a fellow member for the Award of Distinction and/or the Honorary Life Member, please complete the Award Nominations Form. Nominations are due by March 31.


  • $1,000 award honorarium
  • Complimentary ASBC Annual Meeting Registration
  • Featured Award Lecture

Previous Recipients


​2015 ​Xiang S. Yin
​2013 ​Patrick Ting and Steven C. Nelson
​2011 ​Charlie Bamforth
​2010 ​Greg Casey
​2008 ​Barry Axcell and Graham Stewart
​2001 ​Alfred Haunold, Takashi Inoue, Miyoko Ono
​1999 ​Karl Siebert
​1998 ​Godfrey Palmer