Honorary Life Membership​​

Honorary Life Membership is reserved for ASBC members who are retired from full-time professional employment and have exhibited exceptional long-term service to the Society within elected or appointed positions. In addition, the nominated member should have a minimum of 20 years of membership in the American Society of Brewing Chemists. The award will only be given when exceptional achievement has been shown by the Board of Directors. Retired persons who were Past Presidents of ASBC are automatically bestowed Honorary Life Membership.

How to Nominate​

Nominations are accepted from January - March 31 of each year, except for years ​when the World Brewing Congress take place. 

Call for nominations for the 2025 award will open in January 2025.

Honorary Life Member Awardees

​Charlie Bamforth
Brian Williams​
​2013 ​Dirk Bendiak and Kathy Kinton
​2012 ​Ayako Odaka
​2011 ​Dave Thomas
​2010 ​Lance Lusk
​2007 ​Mike Ingledew, Sherman Chan, David Hysert, Jim Munroe
​2003 ​Richard Pyler, Dave Diffor, Nona Mundy, John Grigsby
​2002 ​Peter Gales, Lydia Marinelli, Inge Russell
​2001 ​Anthony Cutaia
​1999 ​Norman Kendall
​1998 ​Michael Lewis, Michael Sfat, Richard Berndt
​1997 ​Arthur Rehberger
​1996 ​Alfred Haunold, Sam Likens, Phillip Israel, Lloyd Rigby
​1994 ​N. Margaret Morrison
​1993 ​Harald Weissler
​1990 ​Vincent Bavisotto
​1988 ​Paul Steinke
​1985 ​James McDougall
​1980 ​Ronald Latimer
​1969 ​J. Robert Piening
​1968 ​Robert Tenney
​1966 ​Dwight West

ASBC Past Presidents Bestowed Honorary Life Membership

Charles Baker
Vincent Bavisotto
Dirk Bendiak
Scott Britton
Gregory Casey
Sherman Chan
Robert Christiansen
Jeffery Cornell
Karen DeVries
John Engel
Robert Foster, II
Peter Gales
William Hardwick
David Hysert
Phillip Israel
Michael Joyce
Tim Kostelecky
Cindy-Lou Lakenburges
David Maradyn​
Rob Maruyama
Nona Mundy
James Munroe
Rebecca Newman
Chris Powell
Richard Pyler
Inge Russell
David Ryder
Christina Schoenberger
Bruce Sebree
Dana Sedin
Thomas Shellhammer
Charles Fred Strachan
David Thomas
Suzanne Thompson
Christine White
Xiang Yin