Eric Kneen Memorial Award​


The Eric Kneen Memorial Award is presented to author(s) of the most outstanding paper in the ASBC Journal. The award is selected from the previous year's JASBC articles by members of the ASBC Editorial board and Technical Committee.

Award Recipients

The award consists of an engraved plaque and a $1,000 honorarium (to be distributed amongst the authors). Awardee(s) will be recognized during the ASBC Opening Session at Brewing Summit 2018 in San Diego, CA.

Winning Paper


Elke Arendt

University College Cork, Ireland

Professor Arendt is a native of Stuttgart, Germany. She graduated as an Engineer of Food Technology at Hohenheim University in 1988 (MSc.) and received her PhD from the same Institute in 1991. The same year, she moved to University College Cork (Ireland) as a postdoctoral scientist funded by a Marie Curie fellowship. In 1993, she was appointed as a faculty member at UCC where she established an externally-funded research group, which was consistently supported by grants from National, EU and industry sources. In 2007, she was awarded a DSc from the National University of Ireland for her published work in the area of fermented foods. In 2016, she was appointed as Principal Investigator at the APC Microbiome Institute. In her research field, she was listed as one of the most highly cited researchers in world in 2017 (Clarivate Analytics) and has a H-Index of 63 (Google Scholar). She lectures and carries out research in the areas of malting, brewing and cereal science. Specific research topics include: lactic acid bacteria and their application in malting and brewing as well as cereal products, gluten-free malting and brewing and functional cereal-based foods and beverages. Prof Arendt is currently the head of a group of 25 research staff and PhD students.

Lorenzo Peyer

University College Cork, Ireland

Lorenzo has been thrilled about food for a long time—especially with fermentation. He decided to follow his gut feeling and completed a Master in food process engineering at the ETH Zurich and another one in food gastronomy in Piedmont, Italy. Soon after, he took his chance to live out his interest in brewing and joined temporarily the craft crew of Bristol Beer Factory. Enthusiastic of the hands-on experience, while being curious for science, he decided to start a PhD on the topic of malting bio-protection and sour beers in the group of Prof. Elke Arendt (University College Cork, Ireland). The work done at the research microbrewery nourished his theoretical and empirical edges. Now, while keeping brewing in his tiny city apartment, Lorenzo has made the transition from grain to grape and works momentarily as a scientific application manager at Chr. Hansen, Denmark. He overlooks projects in wine fermentation and starter culture innovation as well as assisting winemakers all over the world.

Martin Zarnkow

Technische Universität München, Germany

​Apprenticed as a brewer and maltster from 1989-1991 at a small brewery in Frankonia. Finishing a Diplom-Ingenieur (FH) graduation, option brewing technology, 1996 at the TU München Weihenstephan. Work as a brew master for one year in a medium-sized brewery in Germany. From 1997 to 2014 head of the research group for beer and beverage technologies at the Lehrstuhl für Brau-und Getränketechnologie (Institute for Beer and Beverage Technology) at the TU München in Weihenstephan. Finished 2010 his external PhD research at the University College of Cork, Ireland on the subject: “Proso Millet (Panicum miliaceum L.) a Sustainable Raw Material for the Malting and Brewing Process”. Since 2014 head of research and development at Research Centre Weihenstephan for Brewing and Food Technology at the TU München in Weihenstephan.

Fritz Jacob, Technische Universität München, Germany

David P. De Schutter, Fund Baillet Latour, Belgium

Selection Criteria

Any single published paper from the Journal from the immediate preceding year is eligible for consideration. This publication could arise from an annual meeting presentation, a poster session presentation, or an unsolicited submission to the Journal of the ASBC.

At least one author of a candidate paper must be a member of ASBC or be a designated corporate member at the time the ballots are sent out.

The published paper can be, but is not limited to, original work in the field of brewing and allied disciplines, comprehensive reviews, and critiques.

Criteria for the selection of “best” publication would include:

  • Clarity of exposition
  • Contribution to technical understanding
  • Technical rigor
  • Originality
  • Overall industry relevance 

Previous Award Recipients

​Journal Year ​Awardee Author(s)
​2017 ​Elke Arendt, Lorenzo Peyer, Martin Zarnkow, Fritz Jacob, David P. De Schutter
2016 Andrew J. MacIntosh, Maria Josey, and R. Alex Speers
​2015 ​Christina Schmidt, Martin Biendl, Annika Lagemann, George Stettner, Christian Vogt, Andreas Dunkel, Thomas Hofmann
2014​ Tinne Dekoninck, Tom Mertens, Filip Delvaux, and Freddy Delvaux ​
​2013 ​Eric Johann Samp
​2012 ​Daan Saison, David De Schutter, Filip Delvaux, and Freddy Delvaux
​2011 ​Cynthia Edelen, Robert Foster, Eric Samp
​2010 ​Hidetoshi Kojima, Hirotaka Kaneda, Junji Watari, Yasuo Nakamura, and Teruhiko Hayashi
​2009 ​Evan Evans, Doug Stewart, M. Sheehy, L. H,. Robinson, and A. Surrel
​2008 ​David Ryder, Susan Kay, and Patrick Ting
​2007 ​Paul Hughes
​2006 ​Mark Goldsmith, Peter Rogers, Ken Ghiggino, Nuno Miguel Cabral, and Felicity Roddick
​2005 ​Barry Axcell, Sandra van Nierop and Anna Cameron-Clarke
​2004 ​Karl J. Siebert and Penelope Y. Lynn
​2003 ​Paul Sadosky, Paul Schwarz, and Richard Horsley
​2002 ​Robert T. Foster II, Eric J. Samp, and Hugo Patiño
​2001 ​M. Uchida and M. Ono
​2000 ​J. P. Maye, S. Mulqueen, S. Weis, J. Xu, and M. Priest
1999​ ​K. J. Siebert and P. Y. Lynn
​1998 ​K. J. Siebert and P. Y. Lynn
​1997 ​M. Uchida, S. Suga, and M. Ono.
​1996 ​L. Lusk, H. Goldstein, and D. Ryder
​1995 ​H. Kaneda, N. Kobayashi, Y. Tsuchiya, M. Munekata, and S. Koshino
​1994 ​S. Gares, M. Whiting, M. Ingledew, and B. Ziola
​1993 ​I. McMurrough, R. Kelly, J. Byrne, and M. O’Brien
​1992 ​A. J. Irwin, R. L. Barker, and P. Pipasts
​1991 ​B. W. Drost, R. van den Berg, F. J. M. Freijee, E. G. van der Velde, and M. Hollemans
​1990 ​B. J. Clarke, R. D. Jones, and T. E. Kavanagh